The Cuan hotel has been at the heart of Strangford Village since 1811, Peter and Caroline McErlean took over this iconic establishment in 1989 and lovingly rebuilt it to pay homage to the rich history of this village, our aim being to meet all the expectations of the 21st century guest while preserving the historic focal role of The Cuan.
Feel the release of the pressure valves of life as you arrive in the village, take a leisurely stroll around the ferry quay then settle in for an evening of award winning seafood accompanied by excellent wines, finally, snuggle up in our comfy 4* bedrooms for a restorative sleep that has been aided by fresh sea air.
The Cuan hotel offers the perfect base to visit attractions such as; Castle Ward National Trust offering 35 km of walking, cycling and horse trails; Downpatrick, the home of St Patrick; Downpatrick Racecourse; Down County Museum plus a tour around the greatest concentration of Angle-Norman Castles in Ireland.
Play Royal Co Down, one of the world’s top three golf courses, climb the Mourne Mountains and stroll one of the many sandy beaches dotting the Co Down coastline.
Take the ferry over to Portaferry to visit Northern Irelands only aquarium, Exploris, then onwards to the world renown gardens of Mount Stewart stopping off at some wonderful artisan food providers dotted around the Lough.